October 6th

Dear Family and Friends,

My birthday was amazing. I felt loved from all over that world. I thoroughly enjoyed the letters, cards, gifts, and photos. My companion got up early and made me a breakfast of fried egg, fried banana, guacamole cheese and bread, and oatmeal. Oh, it was the best breakfast ever. She woke me up to the happy birthday song in english that she had on CD. At lunch our pentionist made me a dish I love called Bistek al Pobre which means Poor mans steak. Its beans, rice, fried eggs and fried bananas yummmmm. And she surprised me with streamers and a happy birthday sign and a chocolate cake with a picture of barbie and her dog on it, for Teddy! Yeah she knows I love my dog. Later we went to a members house who love the missionaries and they had a party for me. They had made a sign with a giant picture of me and balloons and streamers. They had a chocolate cake and food too. First we had a spiritual part like a mini family home evening and then we played games. We had to blow flour out of styrofoam cups without using our hands. We got flour all over our faces. They sang to me and then shoved the cake into my face. Thats how it is here and I love it! Later as we were leaving they broke eggs over my head haha its tradition and I was really happy to have a Peruvian birthday. Im 20 now! They got me chocolate and a stuffed animal. Overall it was a wonderful birthday and I feel blessed to have you guys and the people here care about me and remember my bday.

 We had our interviews with the president on my birthday and the assistants gave us a training meeting. I really enjoyed that. We did a practice where one of the missionaries pretended to be one of his investigators that didnt want to accept a date to be baptized. Then, companionship by companionship we had to go up in front of the whole zone and ask three inspired questions to this investigator. The goal was to let the Spirit guide and ask the questions. It was intimidating but amazing to watch. After everyone had gone the assistant asked the missionary posing as his investigator which question he had been waiting for. The result was that the missionary could understand what his investigator needed. I could feeel the Spirit soo deep and strongly. And when some companionships had their turn to ask questions the Spirit would back off a bit and other times get stronger. Its so so sensitive. I learned alot from this experience. Our assistants are really awesome.
Love,
Hanna
Leave a Reply

