August 4th Letter

Dear Family and Friends,
HAPPY 25th ANNIVERSARY!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!
Glad you could have your special day. Me and my companion talked about marriage yesterday. Its a comfort to me that I have parents that know they are with their true soul mate and treat each other right. Thank you for you example and for keeping your covenants.  Being a missionary makes you think a lot about your future spouse and the responsibilities, and struggles that come with it because we are constantly seeing the blessings that come from a faithful temple marriage and the sadness from breaking those covenants or not having the security of a temple marriage. You really see what makes people truly happy in life and what brings misery. I know that temple marriages are ordained of God and they are there to brings us real happiness and strength. Being a missionary makes you think alot about your future spouse and the responsibilities, and struggles that come with it because we are constantly seeing the blessings that come from a faithful temple marriage and the sadness from breaking those covenants or not having the security of a temple marriage. You really see what makes people truly happy in life and what brings misery. I know that temple marriages are ordained of God and they are there to brings us real happiness and strength. 
An experience muy bonita that I had was actually after we visited a less active yesterday night. He told us we were like angels coming to visit him. As we were walking back to our apartment I realized just how happy I felt to be in a mission. How I wasn´t worried about food, or when I could go to sleep. I was absoutely filled with the Spirit and I felt so happy to be in a mission and have the job of bringing the gospel to others. I can´t explain it but it was something I have never quite felt before. I knew I was doing the Lords work and I felt so HAPPY! 
 
I am proud of myself for taking the iniciative with investigators this week. After church my companion was talking to someone else across the room, and all by myself I asked an investigator if she had prayed about her baptism and set up an appointment with a couple other people. The fact that I can now do things like this is truly amazing. My companion was so proud of me she hugged me and later told our District Leader. Seeing myself do things like this on my own because I´m willing to learn, make mistakes, test my faith, and try new things is the greatest part of all.
 
We ate at a members house Saturday and the dessert was the dessert that I hate above all others, Mazamorra is what its called. It’s this gross jello made from purple corn and I almost gag it up. But…..I ate it all and afterwards I complained so much to my companion because of how much I hated it. You can guess what happened the next day. We ate at our pentinest´s house and again…..Mazamorra they gave us.  My companion looked at me and silently started cracking up. Our pentinist saw her so she started laughing too because she thought it was because of something else. So I started laughing too. And……..had round 2 of the horrible dessert. ehhhhhhh Also, we were in an investigators home, ending a lesson. We asked her to pick the closing hymn. She randomly opened the book and pick the Sacrament. Neither me or my companion knew this one. We started singing and it was horrible. Our notes were so random and we both knew that we didn´t know it. We had to keep from laughing because the investigator was there. It was hilarious.
 
We met with a 21 year old that was an ancient investigator from my companion. One day we saw him in the street and he said hi to us and that he wanted to meet with us. When we came to his house (the poorest part in town) his mom said he wasn´t there. We started to walk away but then he rushed out and welcomed us in. He was desperate. He told us he wanted to change his life and that’s why he came to us. He told us that he was into drugs and his family doesn´t know. We gave him the Word of Wisdom pamphlet and told him that through Jesus Christ and the process of repentance he could be free. As he said the closing prayer, he began to cry as he asked for help to do these things. We are so excited to teach him and help him through the process of repentance and the healing power of Jesus Christ. His name is Jesus and keep him in your prayers. We also had 2 less actives come to church and one has a daughter who we are hoping to bring to baptism this month. The lesson in Relief Society was Family History. After the lesson both of these less active sisters were animated to do the work for their family and go to the temple, and in turn the daughter is excited to be baptized so she can go to the temple too!!!! I´m excited for this week!! My faith has been tested many times and every once in a while we receive answers like this!!!I know the Savior is helping me every step of the way.
 
Love,
Hanna
Leave a Reply

